The winners of the 2023 Zenith Fund Awards, now in its eleventh year, have been revealed at a presentation in Sydney today.

The annual awards recognise the best in funds management across various major asset classes and disciplines, with the aim of raising the standard of funds management for the ultimate benefit of investors.

Winners were announced across 23 categories including Rising Star, Distributor of the Year, Index Fund Manager of the Year and the major award for the Fund Manager of the Year.

The 2023 Fund Manager of the Year went to Perpetual Asset Management Australia for the third year running. Perpetual was a finalist in five award categories, and also won in the categories of Multi Asset – Real Return, Australian Equities – Alternative Strategies and Sustainable and Responsible Investments – Income.

Macquarie Asset Management was the other firm to win multiple awards, winning in the Infrastructure and Global & Diversified Fixed Interest categories.

The Rising Star category went to Aikya Investment Management, while Distributor of the Year was awarded to Fidante Partners for the fourth consecutive year.

The 2023 Industry Contribution Award went to respected industry veteran and Investors Mutual founder, Anton Tagliaferro.

Index Fund Manager of the Year went to Vanguard Investments Australia. This category was introduced last year in response to continued growth in the sector and Zenith’s introduction of a ratings process tailored specifically for index funds.

Zenith chief executive officer David Wright said each finalist is a leader in their field and has displayed investment excellence across both qualitative and quantitative criteria over the last year and the longer term.

“As has been our focus in previous years, today’s awards recognise and honour excellence in funds management across all asset classes and disciplines. We believe that this is fundamental to continuing to raise the standards of funds management in our industry for the ultimate benefit of investors,” Mr Wright said.

“Since our first awards ceremony in 2012, when we had just 17 categories of awards, we’ve grown to deliver awards in 23 categories presented to a sold-out event with over 360 of the industry’s key people in attendance.

“While this may be my last awards ceremony as Group CEO, I look forward to celebrating with the best of the funds management industry for years to come.”

Commenting on Anton Tagliaferro’s win, Zenith general manager and head of research, Bronwen Moncrieff, said:

“Anton has made a huge contribution to the financial services industry over four decades as one of the country’s most highly respected value-style fund managers, including over 25 years heading up the firm he founded, Investors Mutual. It was a very easy decision to bestow him with the Industry Contribution Award, and his legacy will be felt across Australian financial services for years to come.”


The full list of winners

Category Name



Cromwell Funds Management

Global REIT

LaSalle Investment Management (SG Hiscock & Company)

Real Assets

Australian Unity Healthcare Property


Macquarie Asset Management

Global & Diversified Fixed Interest

Macquarie Asset Management

Australian Fixed Interest

Metrics Credit Partners

Alternative Strategies

Hamilton Lane

Multi Asset - Diversified

MLC Asset Management

Multi Asset - Real Return

Perpetual Asset Management Australia

International Equities - Emerging Markets & Regional

GQG Partners

International Equities - Alternative Strategies

PM Capital Ltd

International Equities - Global

Royal London Asset Management

International Equities - Global Small Caps

Fairlight Asset Management

Australian Equities - Alternative Strategies

Perpetual Asset Management Australia

Australian Equities - Small Caps

Eiger Capital

Australian Equities - Large Caps

Lazard Asset Management

Sustainable and Responsible Investments - Income


Sustainable and Responsible Investments - Growth

Stewart Investors

Index Fund Manager of the Year

Vanguard Investments Australia

Rising Star

Aikya Investment Management

Industry Contribution Award

Anton Tagliaferro

Distributor of the Year

Fidante Partners

Fund Manager of the Year

Perpetual Asset Management Australia